Nitish Rana did exciting batting, hit Umran Malik for 6 consecutive fours

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) skipper turned the tide against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by scoring 28 runs in the sixth over.

KKR vs SRH: Nitish Rana did exciting batting, hitting Umran Malik for 6 consecutive fours

Nitish Rana completely changed the game for Kolkata Knight Riders by hitting Umran Malik of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) for six consecutive fours in the 19th match of the Indian Premier League 2023 (IPL) on Friday, April 14. Chasing a target of 229 runs, Kolkata lost the first three wickets for only 20 runs. However, the skipper turned the game around by dismissing Umran for 28 runs in the sixth over.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar shocked Kolkata Knight Riders by dismissing Rahmanullah Gurbaz in the opening over. With two consecutive wickets of Venkatesh Iyer and Sunil Narine in the fourth over – the latter returning as an impact player – Marco Jansen then finished off the game for the hosts.

Narayan Jagadishan’s opening partner Rana came out to bat at number five and Rana quickly made his intentions clear. In the final over of the powerplay, he smashed Umran Malik’s pace to bring Kolkata back into the game.

Rana opened the four overs with fine leg before hitting a fine six over midwicket on the following pitch. Over the next three balls, he hit three more astonishing fours, and he finished it off with another maximum over backward point to score six straight boundaries.

In Mayank Markande’s next over, Jagadishan joined Rana in hitting two fours, giving Kolkata Knight Riders hope of another successful 200-plus chase. The duo stitched an unbeaten 62-run stand for the fifth wicket as Kolkata reeled at 82/3 in eight overs with Andre Russell, Rinku Singh and Shardul Thakur coming out to bat.

Harry Brook’s century leaves KKR battered

Rana won the toss and elected to bowl first at the Eden Gardens, but things didn’t go according to plan. Harry Brook brought up his maiden IPL century in just 55 balls, and skipper Aiden Markram, who scored 50 in just 26 balls.

Russell took 3 for 22 while bowling for the first time in IPL 2023 and Varun Chakravarthy took his sixth wicket of the season for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Also read: IPL 2023: What is the salary of KKR batsman Rinku Singh?